The new category has been split into two separate and distinct subcategories. Both are designed to offer performance improvements over ILSAC GF-5, but there are a number of differences that need to be recognised. The two new subcategories have been defined as ILSAC GF-6A and GF-6B.

36403 Infographic V3

Lower viscosity oils are one of the key levers in reducing fuel usage in passenger cars. While they can deliver fuel economy benefits, it is also essential that they maintain engine durability. This means performance improvements over the current ILSAC GF-5 specification were required.

To enable OEMs to introduce oils with viscosity grades of less than SAE 0W-20, ILSAC has proposed GF-6 as two separate subcategories: ILSAC GF-6A and GF-6B. The latter is a new performance level with the same requirements as ILSAC GF-6A but at a lower viscosity level, and is designed to deliver enhanced fuel economy. 

ILSAC GF-6A oils will be identified by the ILSAC Starburst certification mark. A separate symbol will be introduced for ILSAC GF-6B to help avoid missaplication.

Click here to receive regular highlights from, direct to your inbox.

Back to top

What to see next...

Previous story
Next story
The road to ILSAC GF-6